Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
gyrate

Wannabe Scripter

Posted (edited)

This is my attempt at introducing myself to the scripting community :)

A few months ago I was looking for a specific script but couldn't find a public/premium version of it. Instead of thinking about asking a premium scripter to make a private version for me, I jumped at the idea of making my own thinking "how hard could it be?". So I started learning java off youtube and I've made the small achievement of not giving up even though I have no computer science background.  

Currently, I'm on video # 36 out of an 87 video tutorial on Java and if I survive the next 49 videos, I'll finally start looking into the Tribot API and making my own simple scripts. Obviously, I'll be googling or looking at the tutorials posted here first for most of my questions but if I bug one or two of you premium scripters, I hope you'll be patient with me. 

I would greatly appreciate any posts about recommended tutorials or links that you guys/girls can think of (or general advice). 

P.S. I hope to one day apply for scripter rank and then premium scripter.

P.P.S. I'm coming for your profits :)

Edited by gyrate
  • Like 3

19 minutes ago, IceKontroI said:

There are quite a few open source tribot scripts, once you finish your video series and are comfortable in the language, that would probably be a good starting point.

A few other scripters pointed me in that direction as well. I'll alternate between looking at the open source scripts and the API and see how each method and class is utilized 

9 hours ago, gyrate said:

I would greatly appreciate any posts about recommended tutorials

Since you've decided to actually learn Java before attempting to write scripts, you've started this journey off the right foot.

Videos are nice, but reading is even better, and it's indispensable if you want fully grasp advanced (or even basic) concepts.